Stories of Krishna (5 in 1) – English


The story of Lord Sri Krishna has been told and retold a thousand times and it bears another thousand retellings. Such is the power of His mystic spell that he casts on milions of minds from time immemorial and for the millions yet to take birth.

Out of stock

Spread the love

Krishna is the eighth incarnation of Vishnu. Loved for his playful, human traits, he is venerated as the Supreme Being who upholds Dharma. This collection includes five stories of the much-loved deity. Krishna, as retold from the Bhagawat Puran, tells the story of his childhood. When a divine prophecy announces the eighth child of Devaki, the princess of Mathura, as the destroyer of her evil brother, Kamsa, the child’s father has to do all he can to save the baby. Krishna and Rukmini tells the story of the daredevil elopement of Rukmini, the princess of Vidarbha, with Krishna in the face of her brother’s disapproval and despite the fury of her many suitors. In Krishna and Jarasandha the Pandavas must subdue Jarasandha, the mighty king of Magadha, if they have to establish supremacy in the region. Only Krishna knows the secret which can destroy him. Krishna and Narakasura tells the story of Narakasura who steals the earrings of Aditi, the mother of the gods. There is outrage among the devas and Krishna is asked to help. With Satyabhama, his wife, seated beside him on his mount, Garuda, Krishna goes to battle the powerful asura. In the last story, The Syamantaka Gem, Krishna is determined to save his reputationas he is suspected of having stolen the magical Syamantaka gem. Taken from Amar Chitra Katha’s mythology collection, these stories depict the many faces of Krishna – the child, the lover, the strategist, and the upholder of truth and justice.

Spread the love

Hard bound




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Stories of Krishna (5 in 1) – English”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *